World's Most Scenic Train Trips

© Courtesy of Rovos Rail
   Web-only article

Pride of Africa Journey, Rovos Rail

Rovos Rail’s 14-day Pride of Africa journey starts in Cape Town, and then heads northwest through the entirety of South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia and Tanzania before arriving in Dar es Salaam. Along the way, passengers stop for safari excursions at the Madikwe and Selous game reserves, bushwalks at Victoria Falls and Zambia’s Chisimba Falls and more. In between, the teak-paneled train, with its elegant old-world dining car and private sleeping suites, passes through spectacular landscapes like the dense bush of Botswana and Tanzania’s Great Rift Valley, a savanna flat dotted with lonely acacia trees and teeming with wildlife.

Market Place